Oswestry Sports Forum
Oswestry Sports Clubs A to F.
Oswestry Sports Clubs G to Z.
Photo Gallery.
Forum Evenings.
Sports Awards.
Oswestry Games 2012.
Oswestry Sports Council.
Hall of Fame.
Annual Sports Awards 2014/15

The Oswestry Sports Awards for 2014 were presented on 12 June 2015 in Oswestry Cricket Club. Boaz Myhill, West Bromwich Albion FC and Welsh International Goalkeeper, was inducted into the Hall of Fame and presented the Awards.
The winners were:
Veteran Sports Award  to Kelvin Wilford
Kelvin has been playing for Oswestry Rugby Club since he moved to Oswestry 25 years ago.  Now, at age 60, he still plays regularly for the Thirds team, and occasionally for the Seconds.  He inspires and supports the younger players.

Contribution to Sport Award to joint winners Kev Potts and Alison Jones
Over the last four years, Kev & Alison have developed Girls Football at Oswestry Boys & Girls Club.  There are now Girls’ teams playing in three age groups and they are hosting a major girls’ tournament in June for 160 players - the biggest Girls’ Football event ever held in Shropshire.

Junior Team Award to Oswestry RUFC Junior Colts
Despite the squad being set up at the start of this season, they finished runners up in the Raging Bull Junior Colts Div C.  This was a great achievement, especially since 10 of the squad were playing above their age grade.  The team members showed great commitment at training and weekly matches.  Referees were impressed with the team and their discipline.
Coach of the Year Award to Tracy Bathers
Tracy has been Oswestry Olympians Head of Juniors for 7 years and Head Coach.  She puts in 15 hours per week, responsible for planning training sessions, organising league meetings, newsletters and committee work.  She is schools liaison officer and team manager for Shropshire County Juniors Cross-country and Sportshall Athletics. Tracy is pictured here with Boaz Myhill.

The Coach of the Year Runner Up was Karen Hunter of Oswestry Otters.  Karen has been part of Otters for ten years and newly appointed Head Coach.  As well as coaching 4 days a week, Karen is Membership Secretary, Organised the Cyprus training camp and officiates at events.
Outstanding Achievement Award to Daniel Jones
In 2014, Dan was Otters Club Captain leading by example in his dedication to training and his success in competition.  He also coached the younger swimmers.  He achieved Top Boy Swimmer at the West Midlands Regional Championships for 10 years in a row.  He has now been selected to train with the Wales Elite squad and has been sponsored to live and train in Swansea with the aim of competing in the 2018 Commonwealth Games.
The Outstanding Achievement Runner Up was Oswestry Wizards Basketball Club
Only formed in 2014, with the help of a grant from Oswestry Sports Forum, Oswestry Wizards have performed beyond expectation and this year won the North Wales Basketball Association League against several strong and experienced clubs.
Pictured here are Paula Edwards, Rob Wallace, Ben Ellis, Dan Hinks with Boaz Myhill.
The Chairman’s Cup to Amy Hughes  
The Lifetime Achievement Award was donated by Oswestry Boys & Girls Club in 2007 to be awarded to Doug Morris (Oswestry Olympians).  In subsequent years, the winner has been chosen by the Sports Forum Chairman and has become known as the Chairman’s Award or Chairman’s Cup.  The winner this year is Amy Hughes for her amazing feat of running 53 marathons in 53 days.  She has raised £53,000 for the Charlotte Lottie Foundation and continues to achieve amazing feats such as running from Oswestry to London, in order to help Blue Peter presenter, Lindsey Russell, to complete the London Marathon.  Amy has inspired many youngsters in the town, as well as members of the public all over the country, to be more active and she has made Oswestry proud.
Dan Jones with Boaz Myhill.
Boaz Myhill, Amy Hughes and
Chris Powell, Sports Forum Chairman.
The Committee of Oswestry Sports Forum would like to thank Oswestry Cricket Club for their generous hospitality and for everyone who attended the Awards Evening.  We would also like to thank Boaz Myhill for presenting the awards and for patiently signing so many autographs afterwards!  We were delighted to share the celebration with about 100 members, families and friends.