Oswestry Sports Forum
Oswestry Sports Clubs A to F.
Oswestry Sports Clubs G to Z.
Photo Gallery.
Forum Evenings.
Sports Awards.
Oswestry Games 2012.
Hall of Fame.
Oswestry Sports Council.
Annual Sports Awards 2015/16
The winners were:
Veteran Sports Award = Brian Suckley, still playing top class competitive table tennis at 76, while also coaching younger players at Morda Table Tennis Club.

Disability Sport Award – George Raffle, an all-round sportsman at Derwen College, enjoying success in football, cricket, athletics, paddlesport and tennis.
The 12th annual Oswestry Sports Awards, organised by Oswestry Sports Forum, were held on Friday, 6th May 2016.  Oswestry Cricket Club was full to bursting with award nominees and their supporters. VIP guests, Stuart Manford and Amy Hughes, were also present and were both inducted into the Hall of Fame.  The standard of nominees was impressive, resulting in close votes by the selection committee.
Contribution to Sport – Peter Turner has spent many years in leading roles at Oswestry Golf Club and has developed his responsibilities to national level e.g. chairing the England Golf Development Committee, tutor at the England Golf Rules School while still developing wider skills such as Golf Course Assessment.  In the past he was a well known football referee and continues to give valuable support to his colleagues.
Peter Turner receives the Contribution to Sport Award from Amy Hughes.  Photo by Huw Davies, Oswesty Advertizer.
The Chairman’s Award for Lifetime Achievement – Clive Knight
This is awarded at the discretion of the Chairman of Oswestry Sports Forum, Chris Powell.   Chris awarded the cup to Clive Knight for his many years of service to sports development in tennis, including with the LTA, with Telford & Wrekin Council and following his retirement, in Oswestry where continues to coach with Oswestry Team Tennis and now organises the annual Community Games in Cae Glas park.
Clive Knight receives the Lifetime Achievement Award from Amy Hughes (last year’s winner).  Photo by Huw Davies, Oswestry Advertizer.
The Committee of Oswestry Sports Forum would like to thank Oswestry Cricket Club for their generous hospitality and for everyone who attended the Awards Evening.  We were delighted to share the celebration with about 120 members, families and friends.  We would also like to thank Amy for being our Guest Speaker and Hazel Yates for organising the Hall of Fame.  Huw’s photos are available for purchase from Oswestry Advertizer by calling 01691 655321 .
Coach of the Year – Rob Kershaw, is a voluntary coach who has developed Oswestry Rugby Girls Club to a squad of 35 girls, from age 11 to 18, who enjoy playing Rugby.  Rob has encouraged other Shropshire Clubs to build their Girls sections by organising girls matches where, especially, his U-13’s have achieved success.
Coach nominees Rob Kershaw and Shelley McGlinchey with Chairman, Chris Powell.  Neil Prescott was unable to attend the Presentations
Contribution to Sport Runners-up:
Stephen Evans works at Derwen College to inspire young people with disabilities to take up sports and challenge themselves.  By offering a broad range of activities (e.g. cycling, boccia, martial arts, skiing) and building links with local clubs, in one year, he has achieved a 15% increase in the uptake of sport by the students.

Ali Tickner has volunteered for Oswestry Olympians for ten years, seven of those as club Secretary, working up to 20 hours per week on administration and also as a coach for the juniors.  Ali s also a successful runner,  e.g. in the cross-country team.

John Ridgers is now Training Principal at Shropshire Sailing Club, after 25 years of helping
Contribution to Sport nominees: Stephen Evans, John Ridgers, Ali Tickner, Guest Speaker Amy Hughes, Peter Turner and Sean Lawcock
with training at the club.  In the last year, he has developed successful links with local schools, offering six-week sailing courses at the club for several groups of pupils.

Sean Lawcock has been managing director and coach of the MD Warriors for four years.  He runs classes at local schools, from nursery to secondary, to ensure that martial arts is accessible to as many children as possible, even inactive kids who dislike traditional sports.
Outstanding Achievement – Connor Beardmore, aged 16, developed as a Hockey goalkeeper over the last 5 years and now represents Wales in Under-18 boys international fixtures.  He is also the keeper for the Cannock HC 2nd team as well as their successful U-18 side.  He has just been selected to join a development & training programme with the Men’s Welsh Hockey Team, although he is only 16.
Outstanding Achievement nominees: Connor Beardmore and Morgan Jones.  Matt Lee was unable to attend the Presentations.
Outstanding Achievement runners up
Morgan Jones, now 15, swims for Oswestry Otters.  A year ago, he made the Finals in the Midlands Competition and this Easter, in the Welsh National Championships he won age-group Gold medals in 100 free, 50 butterfly and 50 back and silver medal in the 100 back, bronze medal in the 50 free.  He achieved personal best times in every heat and improved on these times in every final!  At the Welsh Nationals, a top coach congratulated Morgan on his excellent technique and said he has the potential to go all the way.

Matthew Lee (21) has played for Criftins Tennis Club for 13 years.  At 17 he became number one in Shropshire and has held the top spot for three years.  He practises three or four times per week and enters 20 competitions each year.   He is now ranked 134 in the GB Tennis Rankings, out of a pool of 20,000 players.
Oswestry Sports Forum Chairman, Chris Powell, inducts Amy Hughes and Stuart Manford into the Hall of Fame.  Photos by Huw Davies, Oswestry Advertizer.
Left: Brian Suckley receives Veteran Sports Award from Chris Powell.
Right: George Raffle receives Disability Sport Award from Amy Hughes.

Photos by Huw  Davies, Oswestry Advertizer.
Junior Team Award – CrossFit Oswestry Junior Girls Olympic Weightlifting Team achieved qualification and medals in the British Age Group Championships for their technique and the weights lifted.  Annie Slawson, Eloise Walker, Christine Hughes, Molly Greenwood, Hannah Walker.  Photo by Huw Davies, Oswestry Advertizer.

Junior Team Award Runners Up:
Oswestry School Under-13A Football Team lost only 2 of the 11 matches in their first season together, scoring a total of 61 goals and conceding
only 17.  They also scored the fastest hat-trick from kick-off in school history (5 minutes 52 seconds).
Rob Kershaw receives the Coach of the Year Award from Chris Powell.  Photo by Huw Davies, Oswestry Advertizer
Connor Beardmore recieves the Outstanding Achievement Award from Amy Hughes.  Photo by Huw Davies, Oswestry Advertizer.
After the Inductions into the Hall of Fame, Amy Hughes gave a short speech and then presented the Awards.  Christine Hughes presented the Junior Team Award.